80’s Month: New Order

When I came to school at the University of Iowa, I was kind of a rube about music that wasn’t classic rock or metal.  This was before Nirvana hit and everyone started listening to alternative, so my focus before college was more  Judas Priest, Dio, Scorpions, Van Halen, etc.  As a freshman, I met some cool guys from Chicago who opened my mind more to types like Joe Jackson, Style Council, etc.  It was during my sophomore year that I used to go to a bar in Iowa City that played the hippest white dance music.  This is where I first heard the Cure, Depeche Mode, and the Smiths.  The coolest jams they played were by New Order.  This was like an electronic, less pop version of the Human League to my ears.  Synth pop with sexy lyrics sung in an icy-cold voice.  I fell for it right away.

Here’s a really cool acoustic cover of New Order’s Bizarre Love Triangle by Frente.

Leave a Reply

