80’s Music: INXS

One of the 5 best bands of the 80’s was INXS.  They brought funk to 80’s alternative rock, as they put out 2 of the best rock records of the 80’s in Listen Like Thieves and Kick. Singer Micheal Hutchence was like some strange mix of Jim Morrison and Mick Jagger, which melded perfectly with his bandmates who could really play.  I saw them live opening for both Adam Ant and Men at Work and this was at a point where they were still working it out.. Their first 2 records are not worth even listening to, but starting with the Shabooh Shoobah album, they went on a really good run.  The One Thing was their big single off that record and the video was excellent, but I think Don’t Change is one of their best songs ever, so here it is.  It should have been a big song in some John Hughes movie.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xbs5qx_inxs-dont-change_music

Listen Like Thieves put them on the map, with the song Need You Tonight a smash.  The first single was This Time, which didn’t hit big, but I love it’s jangly 80’s guitars and big choruses.

INXS’ follow-up, Kick was a monster success, with 4 top-10 singles.  It has to be one of the sexiest rock records ever made.  If you don’t believe me, examine these lyrics.

So slide over here
And give me a moment
Your moves are so raw
I’ve got to let you know
I’ve got to let you know
You’re one of my kind

I need you tonight
‘Cause I’m not sleeping
There’s something about you girl
That makes me sweat

I chose the song that seemed to be Hutchence’s theme—Devil Inside.

Here’s a song from the Lost Boys that the band did with singer Jimmy Barnes. Great bar-band feel.

Hutchence did a project away from the band in 1989 called Max Q, which had one excellent song called Way of the World.  Some of his best vocals.

Finally, here’s a cool cover of New Sensation by Snow Patrol.

Leave a Reply

