80’s Music: Neil Finn (Crowded House and Split Enz)

The 2 best Beatle-esque records of the 80’s were by Crowded House.  The lead singer of the band was Neil Finn, who earlier in the decade was the lead voice of the band, Split Enz .  Big stars in their native Australia, Split Enz never hit big in this country, but they had a fair share of excellent singles.  I have listed my 4 favorite of Split Enz songs below.  I Got You, History Never Repeats, One Step Ahead, and Six Months in a Leaky Boat are well-worth checking out.

The first 2 Crowded House records were both great from start to finish.  I can’t think of many songs prettier than Don’t Dream It’s Over from their self-titled debut.

Their debut was a bigger success, but I think their follow-up, Temple of the Lowmen is their classic.  Hard to pick just one song from this great record, but here’s the hauntingly seductive Into Temptation. Before you check out the video, I thought I would let you read the amazing lyrics.

You opened up your door
I couldn’t believe my luck
You in your new blue dress
Taking away my breath
The cradle is soft and warm
Couldn’t do me no harm
You’re showing me how to give

Into temptation
Knowing full well the earth will rebel
Into temptation

In a muddle of nervous words
Could never amount to betrayal
The sentence is all my own
The price is to watch it fail
As I turn to go
You looked at me for half a second
An open invitation for me to go

Into temptation
Knowing full well the earth will rebel
Into temptation
Safe in the wide open arms of hell

We can go sailing in
Climb down
Lose yourself when you linger long
Into temptation
Right where you belong

The guilty get no sleep
In the last slow hours of morning
Experience is cheap
I should’ve listened to the warning
But the cradle is soft and warm

Into temptation
Knowing full well the earth will rebel
Into your wide open arms
No way to break the spell
Don’t tell

Finally, here’s a great live performance of History Never Repeats by Pearl Jam. Eddie Vedder discusses his love of the band after the performance.

Leave a Reply

