80’s Music: New Wave-Pop

If you were to ask me what my favorite new wave-pop song of the 80’s, I would answer Wouldn’t It Be Good by Nik Kershaw.  Kershaw had some Howard Jones-like flourishes, but his lyrics and voice was darker in tone.  He never had another song to match this 80’s classic, so I’ve included a great acoustic version he did of it, as well.

My next 3 favorite new wave-pop songs of the decade were Life in a Northern Town by Dream Academy, Come on Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners, and Tainted Love by Soft Cell.

Talk Talk had a few songs that I dug, with It’s My Life and Life’s What You Make It the most successful.  Seriously nasal singing, but it works.

I wasn’t as big of a Thompson Twins fan as a lot of people were, but they do have a couple songs I still think hold up. First is the 80’s staple, a dance mix of Hold Me Now and then Lay Your Hands on Me.

Next I have listed a couple strange new wave-pop one-hit wonders, Taco’s Puttin’ on the Ritz and Murray Head’s One Night in Bangkok.

Finally, I finish up with the dance song of the 80’s. It’s A SAFETY DANCE! Go ahead, act like an Imbecile.

Leave a Reply

