80’s Music: The Clash/Big Audio Dynamite

Let me start by saying that London Calling came out in 1979, so I won’t cover it here.  Let me also add that if you don’t own that recording, you should, as it’s one of the best in the history of rock music.  A lot of critics love Sandinista!, but I’m not one and I only like Combat Rock for the great singles, Should I Stay or Should I Go and Rock the Casbah.  Here they are.

Joe Strummer and Mick Jones separated after this record, with Jones starting Big Audio Dynamite.  While some of their stuff can sound a little dated now, it was pretty revolutionary sounding at the time. Their mix of samples with dance rock still holds a cool vibe to me.  Below are E=MC2, Rush, and the Globe.

This is my favorite Joe Strummer song, Love Kills from the Sid and Nancy movie.

Leave a Reply

