80’s Music: XTC, Hoodoo Gurus, and The The

I’m coming to the end of the 80’s Month and didn’t feel these bands deserved a whole piece, but felt they were deserving of mentions.  I’m not a fan of XTC’s early work, as it’s a bit precious for my taste, but 1984’s Skylarking is great.  Originally dissed by leader Andy Partridge, who didn’t like producer Todd Rundgren’s strong control of the record, he now has come around to the Skylarking’s Beatle-like charms.  It is their best record and here is Grass and Dear God to prove it.

Right behind Skylarking for XTC quality was their follow-up, Orange and Lemons. Here is King for a Day and Mayor of Simpleton.

The Hoodoo Gurus were not Australian successes on the level of Men at Work or INXS, but the band was a mainstay of 80’s college radio.  Don’t know a lot about the group, except they had a number of quality singles.  I have chosen as my 80’s Gurus sampler to include I Want You Back, Bittersweet, What’s My Scene, and Come Anytime.  Great jangly rock.

The The is one of those bands that straddle the 80’s and 90’s, but I have listed the singles you should check-out from the decade we are focused on.  Infected is one of my decade favs, plus Sweet Bird of Truth, Armageddon Days are Here, and The Violence of Truth.

Leave a Reply

